Stars or the Mud and Personal Progress

January 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

Shoot for the treetops and land in the mud, Shoot for the moon and land among the stars.

Dear friend,

As I explained in this little post, I am the secretary in my wards Young Women and in addition to making my life a bit more crazy I have found so much joy!  I also have created some fun printables and helps over the last 3 months that I want to share here with you so I begin with one I made for our Personal Progress Activity this Wednesday.

Our goal for this week is to assess where the girls are, since we are all new, and then plan our activities for the first Wednesday from the requirements that would benefit the most girls.

Let me back up and explain a little for those of you not familiar with the Young Womens program.  Young Womens is a program within my Church-the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints-that guides young women between the ages of 12-18.  Personal progress is an inspired set of requirements and projects that help the girls gain a testimony of Jesus Christ, understand their identity, learn how to be worthy to return to our Father in Heaven, prepare for the roles they will fill in their life {leader, wife, mother}, and prepare to go to the temple and make covenants there to bind their families throughout eternity.

The tasks require that the girls be industrious, provide service and think of others, learn new skills, plan for their future, be a leader, it requires introspection, and creating goals for their life.  But it is all personal and for each girl to be responsible for.

So, to help the girls organize their goals and continue moving forward in accomplishing their goals I have created a worksheet for each quarter that they will fill out during an activity and then hang in their room so they can check their progress.

As the girls fill out their worksheet our team of leaders will be pulling each girl aside individually to share with us her accomplishments in personal progress.

I hope you find this useful!

{Download the worksheet here}

I hope to be posting more of our fun shortly:)

Ash

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stars or the Mud and Personal Progress at Two Penny Blue Mom.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

