No. 6 Faith and Family Doodle

June 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

Dear friends,

This week I was reading on sweet Clara’s blog, and her mom always ends each post with some inspiring thought.  This one caught my eye,

 “In this world of uncertainty, it is more important than ever to make our families the center of our lives and the top of our priorities.  Famlies lie at the center of our Heavenly Father’s plan.”

In this talk Elder L. Tom Perry talks of the importance of family and all the things we can do on this Earth to help build and support ours.  This is my most important missionary work, to share with my children the joy that the gospel, my faith and my Heavenly Father have brought to my life.  I could not imagine living a life without Him.  I went over and read the talk this was from and he went on to say,

“We need to make our homes a place of refuge from the storm, which is increasing in intensity all about us…our families are not yet ours.  The Lord has committed them to us to see how we will treat them.  Only if we are faithful will they be given us forever.  What we do on Earth determines whether or not we will be worthy to become heavenly parents.”

Pretty heavy stuff…but how wonderful it is we are not only given this council but given all the tools we need to full fill this responsibility.  So today as an intro to Family and Faith Fridays I wanted to show you the places I find some of my guidance in trying to be everything that I can be to my hubby and sweet McGilly.

On the LDS website there section called Happiness in Family Life, it is broken up into 10 parts, 8 of which are imperative to happiness in the home and beautiful tools in aiding us in building up our own families (the other two parts are great two but they are activities and resources).  The eight are faith, prayer, repentance, forgiveness, respect, love, compassion, and work.  The great thing about these topics is that whether you are LDS or not, these topics can help us to make this world a little better place through our children.

Here were some of my favorite quotes from the pages,

 “Near the end of his life, one father looked back on how he had spent his time on earth. An acclaimed, respected author of numerous scholarly works, he said, ‘I wish I had written one less book and taken my children fishing more often.’ Time passes quickly. Many parents say that it seems like yesterday that their children were born. Now those children are grown, perhaps with children of their own. ‘Where did the years go?’ they ask. We cannot call back time that is past, we cannot stop time that now is, and we cannot experience the future in our present state. Time is a gift, a treasure not to be put aside for the future but to be used wisely in the present.”

“Love one another; as I have loved you” (John 13:34). On this simple phrase hangs the success of every marriage and family. In the light of Christ’s love we see our family’s divine potential. We love them with all our heart, soul, and mind. And as we do, our ordinary family is transformed into an extraordinary one.”

“We build deep and loving family relationships by doing simple things together, like family dinner and family home evening and by just having fun together. In family relationships love is really spelled t-i-m-e, time. Taking time for each other is the key for harmony at home. We talk with, rather than about, each other. We learn from each other, and we appreciate our differences as well as our commonalities. We establish a divine bond with each other as we approach God together through family prayer, gospel study, and Sunday worship.”

I grew up a member of the church but my family was not active.  After I met my husband was one of the first times I prayed aloud (and I had to write it down first), read the Book of Mormon, and attended church regularly.  I always knew that the church was good and I thought I knew it was true, but it was more because of the faith of others.  I had a strong relationship with my Father in Heaven he had helped me through many difficult times and I knew Him.  When my husband asked me to marry him in the temple.  I knew that I had always wanted that but I wanted to make sure it was because it was the right thing and not just that I had grown up in a society that temple marriage was revered and even expected by some.  This led to fervently reading the Book of Mormon from front to back in a short period of time and an intense amount of prayer.  I tested what I thought was right and it turned into what I knew was right and I have never once looked back.   The gospel, the teachings of a latter-day prophet and apostles, the knowledge and testimony that I have of Joseph Smith and that he restored the priesthood and the true church to this Earth has not only enriched my life but brought me more joy and strength than I can begin to explain.

I want to try on these Fridays to put into words the miracles that faith has brought into my life.  I want it as a record for my sweet McGilly and if by chance it can help one other person it would do my heart good.

Have a fantastic weekend and make sure to check back tomorrow, Service Saturday, for some free printables to help you in brightening some one else’s day…oh yes and Monday for some awesome new additions to your wonder hour box–8 activities to be exact.

Ash

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No. 6 Faith and Family Doodle at Two Penny Blue Mom.

meta

