Visiting Teaching is Fun!

August 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Dear friend,

Each Sunday as part of our Sunday worship, the sisters meet together in Relief Society.  According to our General Relief Society President, the purpose of the Relief Society is to prepare women for the blessings of eternal life by helping them-

1. Increase their faith and personal righteousness

2. Strengthen their families and homes

3. Serve the Lord and His children

As part of serving and caring for God’s children, we are given the assignment of Visiting teaching.  We have a Visiting teaching companion assigned to us through inspiration and then we are given a group of women that we are to watch over and visit each month, if everyone visits those in their care every woman would be visited each month to be uplifted and feel cared for.  In my ward we just got new assignments and I stopped by each of their houses today to say hello and give them a little trinket.  I wanted to record what I wrote to one of the sisters so that McGilly could see my testimony of this beautiful program that I am so lucky to be a part of.  I gave each of them a small candle holder I made out of a mason jar and a note with my testimony.  Also, each month their is a message to read and share with your sisters that is chosen by the presidency.

 

I have a testimony of our important role as women of faith on this Earth.  We as sisters have been given divine qualities unique to us that is our responsibility to share.  I have seen miracles preformed in my own life and in the life of others by kind acts of wonderful women magnifying the talents and gifts that they have been given.

I was watching a biography the other day of a catholic nun named Therese.  She was admitted into the convent at the age of 15 because of her diligence in convincing those in charge and even the Pope that she was meant to be there because of her love for her Father in Heaven.  Through her journal she recorded her love for the Savior and has since inspired generations of others.  She said, “My heaven is to do good on Earth.”  I loved this because it so greatly explains the purpose of the Relief Society.  We, by caring for each other, by having elevated aims, by seeking to make our life choice, virtuous, and holy, can make a heaven on Earth.  An Earth where all are cared for, none are lonely, and all can reach their fullest potential.

I am so excited to get to come and visit with you each month, to share in the lessons provided by our Heavenly Father, and chosen by our church leadership.  I want you to know that I am here and that you and your family will be in my prayers.  Please if there is anything, really- anything, I can do in between our visits, do not hesitate to call.  I know from experience that asking someone for help is not an easy thing to do but I want you to know that as hard as it is you will be blessing my life, and making my day.

With love, Sister Winterrose

 

Here is the tutorial on the glass lanterns and here is the link to the free printable cards I used.

Here is a free printable fridge reminder to complete your visiting teaching too.

Have a happy Tuesday!

AshLee

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Visiting Teaching is Fun! at Two Penny Blue Mom.

meta

