Family and Faith Friday: Clarity

September 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

Dear friend,

“We like to be appreciated but if we do not get all the appreciation which we think is due, what matter?  We know the Lord has laid high responsibilities upon us, and there is not a wish or a desire that the Lord has implanted in our hearts in righteousness but will be realized, the greatest good we can do to ourselves and each other is to refine and cultivate ourselves in everything that is good and enobling to qualify us for those responsibilities.”

I have been reading a new book out, on the history and work of the LDS Relief Society called, Daughters in my Kingdom.  This is a quote by Eliza R. Snow the second relief society president of the church.

This quote reminded me of what has seemed to be my theme this month, Strength in the Lord to become my true self.  I am a divine daughter of God, full of beauty, goodness, kindness and capability.  I am a spirit daughter of Him who is on high which means I can do ALL that he asks.  This month I not only turned my life over to the Savior but also am giving it everything I have to make sure I stay here and keep moving forward.  I have always felt that the more I learned of His ways, the more I would see there is to learn.  I believe more than ever the truthfulness of this statement but I also have a testimony of the incredible strength and humility that comes and motivates you to continue forward.

The bolded section from the previous paragraph is a breakthrough for me and I know that it is only because of the hand I have received from my Father, that I can say I really believe it.  My confidence level and self-esteem has always been weak.  I cannot remember a time when I have not wanted to fix something about me and placed a piece of my happiness upon a shelf waiting for a time when all would fall into place .  My Achilles Heel, you know the weakest place the adversary can exploit to get you down, has to do with my feelings of how I measure up.

Tonight I was jogging and listening to Adele, love her  “Don’t underestimate the things that I will do, there’s a fire starting in my heart…” at that moment I thought of the quote above that I had read this morning,

“We know the Lord has laid high responsibilities upon us, and there is not a wish or a desire that the Lord has implanted in our hearts in righteousness but will be realized,

Then I thought of Maya, another wonderfully strong woman, and the first stanza of her poem Phenomenal Woman,

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies


I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size


But when I start to tell them 


They think I’m telling lies. 


I say, 
It’s in the reach of my arms 


The span of my hips, 


The stride of my step, 


The curl of my lips. 


I’m a woman 


Phenomenally. 


Phenomenal woman, 


That’s me.

{read the rest here}

Somewhere in this train of thought came that clarity where changes are made inside moments.  Perhaps it’s that I am turning 30 on my next birthday so I am afforded a little wisdom, perhaps it is the refiner’s fire I feel I have been through this last month or perhaps it is just a tender mercy from on high or even a perfect mixture of the three but, in that moment I set down that weighty piece of baggage labeled “Not Good Enough”, saw myself through His eyes, and breathed in the fresh crisp air of possibility.

How much more good could we do in the world if we let go of our proverbial baggage?  Utilize forgiveness, love, charity, and see ourselves and those around us through His eyes.

We are daughters of God, beautiful, wonderful, awesome…divine.  This is our birthright it is who we each are innately.  The closer we place ourselves to the path of Christ, the more that divinity and love shows through.  It is not about the perfect skin, toned legs, long luxurious locks, or perfectly proportioned features-it is about what is inside our heart, it is in our desires, it is in the reach of our arm to lift others.

I have said some version of this last statement to help others and I’ve consoled myself with that same expression.  Until tonight I have never truly believed it.  Until tonight this same statement was only a shallow and short lived pep talk because I was not ready for it.  I am now, ready to see myself for who I am and cherish that view.  I am a divine daughter of God, I am a Phenomenal Woman, strong, powerful and not to be underestimated-by myself-or anyone else for I have God on my side.

I love running, it is where my clarity happens and I am grateful.

Happy Friday, Ash

 

Being a part of {this}is what makes my testimony so strong.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Family and Faith Friday: Clarity at Two Penny Blue Mom.

meta

