A Kaleidoscope

October 17, 2011 § 1 Comment

 Dear friend,

I love Autumn!  This is the tree in front of my house…it is stunning.   From my bedroom window I can see the deep red leaves at the top and from my front room window down stairs I can see all the golden oranges along the bottom.  This week, just like this tree has brought some stunning changes.  From previous posts you may know that I was a teacher in Relief Society {an organization in my church for women 18 and over} Last time I checked it was the largest women’s organization in the world.  This is our motto:

“Charity Never Faileth” stems from the first Relief Society meeting. The sisters were asked by the Prophet Joseph Smith to assist the brethren “in looking to the wants of the poor—searching after objects of charity, and in administering to their wants.” The sisters took this call to heart and became a society devoted to seeking out the poor and needy. (See Teachings of Presidents of the Church: Joseph Smith [2007], 452.)

I had the wonderful opportunity of teaching the 4th Sunday lessons based on the words of our modern-day prophet, Thomas S. Monson and his apostles.  For the last six months my life has been immeasurably blessed by this calling, it has served as a proverbial security blanket for me-giving me just the right lessons and focuses I have needed at just the right time.  I love the sisters in my ward, their strength, their faith, their kindness, I have grown to finally feel a part of my ward family.  It is amazing to be a part of something that helps all of us set our aims upward, to think of others first and to draw us closer to our savior, Jesus Christ, and our Father in Heaven.

Last week I was extended a new calling which meant I would have to be released from teaching in Relief Society and the calling was being a part of the new Young Women’s presidency in my ward.  I was called to be the new secretary.  I have served these young women before as a Girls Camp director and as part of the Stake Team at girls camp {Young Womens is the organization to support the girls 12-18 in the LDS church to “Come Unto Christ”}.  These are some of my favorite people in my ward-they are brave, strong, beautiful girls who in such a precarious stage of life are standing strong and already aiming upward.  I am overjoyed to be able to serve them in this calling.  I am part of a team of wonderfully strong and spiritual women that I can’t wait to get to know better and be able to serve with and learn from.  The greatest part about this change is just like my calling in Relief Society I know my Heavenly Father knows where I need to be, he will qualify me for this calling, and if I seek out and listen to his guidance I can be his hand in the lives of those I serve.  Through this service I know I will be given opportunities to grow and will most definitely be blessed by the strength and testimonies of these wonderful young women.

I am so grateful for growing older, I find that wisdom is one of my most prized possessions and the interesting thing about wisdom is that you can not seek it out in college credits, true wisdom is a gift of life.  I look back at myself when I was the age of my Young Women and I am so grateful for the experiences I suffered and was blessed with that have brought me to this point.  The lens through which I view the world is uniquely mine and it is beautiful, and complex, and seems to get clearer as I move forward.  I know that the richness and acuity of my lens is from viewing the world with my Savior by my side .  I have so much more to learn which is so amazing and so exciting.  I know it isn’t always going to be easy and at certain times I may even resent it. But, because of this pearl I possess-that is my testimony, I know I will endure and I will emerge refined and closer to the potential He sees in me.   I am so grateful that I have a knowledge that I will never stand alone and if I lean on His arm and allow Him to guide me I will look back on my life and see nothing but a kaleidoscope of joy.

I am grateful for my Savior and even if others in this world don’t believe I am Christian, my Savior and I know the truth.

xo Ash

I wanted to share with you the theme of the Young Women, we recite it each week-

We are daughters of our Heavenly Father, who loves us, and we love Him.
We will “stand as witnesses of God at all times and in all things,
and in all places” (Mosiah 18:9) as we strive to live
the Young Women values, which are:
Faith
Divine Nature
Individual Worth
Knowledge
Choice and Accountability
Good Works
Integrity and
Virtue.
We believe as we come to accept and act upon these values,
we will be prepared to strengthen home and family, make and keep sacred covenants,
receive the ordinances of the temple, and enjoy the blessings of exaltation.

Just fantastic!

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to A Kaleidoscope

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Kaleidoscope at Two Penny Blue Mom.

meta

