Sabbath Day Fun!

October 30, 2011 § 1 Comment

Dear friend,

This month I was lucky enough to teach one more time in Relief Society.  I have been so grateful for this calling it has been a security blanket for me through the last 7 months.  I am going to miss being in Relief Society with all the wonderful Heber City 3rd ward women.  When I was driving over to meet with the member of my bishopric that was going to extend my new calling to me.  I thought to myself, “What if they are releasing me?” and I just started to cry.  Teaching is nerve-wracking and I am a little obsessive about the time I put into it, but I have been so blessed to have the privilege of being with these ladies each week.  I am teaching a lesson tomorrow based on {this} talk by Elder L. Tom Perry called The Sabbath and The Sacrament.

I had been thinking about this lesson for the last 3 months or so and trying to improve my efforts in this area.  Rod and I have always been really strict about purchasing anything on Sunday and we knew that we were supposed to rest from work and attending sacrament was pretty important but passed that, I wasn’t sure what we should be doing.  So the research began and out of that came a lesson, and some fun activities and resources for keeping the sabbath and having fun at the same time.  And since I am a compulsive sharer I am posting it here because-well- I love you.

First is the “I Can Keep the Sabbath Holy” Box.  I got this idea from an article in the Friend magazine.  This box can be used one of two ways.  The first, is that you can keep all the supplies that the kiddos would need for Sabbath worthy activities in the box and add to it as you come up with more.  The second, is that you could make the contents a surprise and put in different supplies each week for the kiddos to use.  Here are some ideas:

  • Art supplies, notebooks
  • Flannel stories {I made my lid flannel covered so it just pops off and can be played with}
  • Church magazines and stories
  • Armor of God felt people
  • Gospel Art Picture Book
  • File folders with activities done on previous Sunday’s
  • The “I Can Keep the Sabbath Holy” idea book
  • The “I Can Keep the Sabbath Holy” idea can
  • If you do the surprise version you could change it out for games, books, movies, or whatever the supplies you need for the planned activity.
I just covered the lid with felt and the bottom with contact paper.  I also made some free printables for you that you can decorate your box with.
The next idea I had was I wanted a book that had my favorite ideas in it and blank pages so I could write in good ideas that we try or ones I find along the way.  So, the  “I Can Keep the Sabbath Holy” idea book was born.  You can staple this or use this binding tutorial to put it together.  It begins with quotes from LDS leaders about keeping the Sabbath and then gives a Saturday Checklist for preparing for the Sabbath.  The rest of the book is my favorite ideas I found and received and created through the process, at the end I printed extra blank pages to record the favorite things we try.
And then, I also made a  “I Can Keep the Sabbath Holy” idea can.  This can is filled with strips of paper that you can print off with ideas I came accross or write in your own on the blank ones.  The idea is that if you are idealess or if the kiddos get bored they can pull a slip and-Voila!- there is fun idea ready to go.  Hint: only put the ones in you are prepared to do:)
The last thing I wanted to share are some fun links to find more ideas on this fantastic subject:

After reading this talk and the time I have spent reading other articles and talks I have on the sacrament and the Sabbath I felt compelled to thank our Young Men, those that prepare, bless, and pass the sacrament each week.  The sacrament is the center of our Sabbath day and these young boys are entrusted with this responsibility.  I thought if these young men were thanked each Sunday how would that effect the choices they made the rest of the week-if they knew how grateful we are for their sacrifice in serving how would that effect their lives…

We are going to take a moment tomorrow and write little thank you notes to these boys and after Fast Sunday I am going to deliver them with a treat to tell them thank you from the women of the Relief Society.  If you would like to copy, here are the printables.

{Thank yous}

If you get a chance read or watch Elder Perry’s talk or if you want a quick read just take a look at this scripture in the Doctrine Covenants 59:9-13.  This scripture is pretty explicit about what we should be doing on the Sabbath.  I know that if we strive to keep the Sabbath our families will be protected, we will feel increased blessings and we will have more joy than we can handle.  The most important thing I took away from this talk is that the sabbath was made for man, not man for the sabbath.  This day is the Lord’s and it is a small price to pay for all that he has given us.
To the 3rd ward ladies, thank you, thank you for giving me such a wonderful oppurtunity to learn and grow from your testimonies and love.
xo Ash
PS if you download anything or if you just enjoyed the post, drop me a line I would love to hear.
Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Sabbath Day Fun!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sabbath Day Fun! at Two Penny Blue Mom.

meta

